The January Full Wolf Moon is Howling for You!

Gëzuar hënë e plotë!
(“Happy Full Moon” in Albanian)

Welcome to Issue 1 of Volume III of the Earth, Moon and Stars blog!
(Formerly the Full Moon Lore newsletter.)

SUMMARY
Here’s a summary of what’s in this issue of Earth, Moon and Stars:

Full Moon Time
Wednesday January 19  21:21 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)
Wednesday January 19    4:21p EST, 3:21p CST, 2:21p MST, 1:21p PST, 11:21a HAST
Thursday January 20        5:21a PHT (Philippines)
(See the Seasonal Calendar section for details.)

Traditional Names for the January Full Moon
We feature the Wolf  Moon this month. 
See Full Moon Names for more names and details.

Skywatch
Jupiter is that bright “star” in the evening sky.

Next Moon perigee: March 19.
(See Skywatch for details.)

Celebrations
The Chinese Year of the (metal) Rabbit (begins Feb 3)

(See Celebrations for details.)

Astrology and Folklore
Carola Eastwood on implementing our new paths.
Molly Hall on release from suffering and cleansing our emotions.
(See Astrology and Folklore for details.)

§ § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § §

SEASONAL CALENDAR
Next New and Full Moons.

The next New Moon will occur on Thursday February 3, 02:31 UTC, 10:31a (PHT)
Wednesday February 2, 9:31p (EST), 8:31p (CST), 7:31p (MST), 6:31p (PT), 4:31p (HAST)
The next Full Moon will occur on Friday February 18, 08:36 UTC
Friday February 18, 4:36p (PHT), 3:36a (EST), 2:36a (CST), 1:36a (MST), 12:36a (PST)
Thursday February 17, 10:36p (HAST)
U.S. Daylight Saving Time begins March 13
The March Equinox will occur on Sunday, March 20, 23.21 UTC (7:21 PM EDT),
which will also mark the observance of International Earth Day.
(Refs Time and Date, Greenwich Mean Time, International Earth Day

FULL MOON NAMES

Old Moon

    The early English called the January full moon the Old Moon.

The Old Moon Remembers by J. Michael Walker

The Old Moon Remembers (detail)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

“The Old Moon Remembers”, by J Michael Walker, 2001. Found at Avenue 50 Studio
Mitos y Leyendas/Myths & Legends

Wolf Moon

   Native tribes of North America called this moon the Wolf Moon, because this was the time when hungry wolves howled outside villages while people stayed warm inside their lodges.

Wolf Moon

Wolf Moon

   This moon has been also variously called the Ice MoonMoon After Yule, Hunger Moon, and Snow Moon (although many use this name for February’s moon). (Refs 7-9)

SKYWATCH
    That bright “star” in the south to southwest sky at early evening on these January evenings is our old friend Jupiter. Jupiter is the biggest planet in our solar system, central to its own system of 63 orbiting moons. January 2011 is a fine month for seeing this giant planet in the early evening sky. It’s the first “star” to pop out at nightfall. (Ref 10)

   The next perigee (closest approach) of the Moon will be March 19. (More on this in next month’s newsletter.)

CELEBRATIONS

Chinese New Year
   The big moon-related celebration this coming month will be the Chinese New Year, which is on the second New Moon after the winter solstice. (Thus you can see why the Chinese calendar is referred to as a “lunisolar” calendar, since the solstice is a Sun – not a Moon – phenomenon.). The coming year will begin (on our Gregorian calendar) on February 3, which will begin the Year of the Metal Rabbit, or formally Xīn-măo. The Lunar New Year or the Spring Festival is the most important of the traditional Chinese holidays. The Chinese New Year period ends with the Lantern Festival (Yuan-Xiao) on the 15th day of the first lunar month, thus the 14th day after the New Year. (Ref 11)

   Unlike western calendars, the Chinese calendar has names that are repeated every 60 years – the “sexagenary” cycle. The Chinese sexagenary cycle, also known as Stems-and-Branches, is a cyclic numeral system of 60 combinations of the two basic cycles, the ten Heavenly Stems and the twelve Earthly Branches.  This coming year is the Xīn-măo year.  Xīn (Metal) is the eighth of the ten celestial stems and Mao (Rabbit) is the fourth of the twelve terrestrial branches and marks the year of the Rabbit or Hare. (Why there are only 60 combinations and not 120 will be examined in more detail next month.) (Refs 12-13)

   The traditional Chinese calendar is a lunisolar (lunar-solar) calendar. This means that date reckoning is resolved primarily by the phases of the Moon, but anchored and adjusted to fit the solar year. According to the Chinese Zodiac, the coming year is the Year of the Golden (metal) Rabbit, which begins on February 3, 2011 and will end on January 22, 2012.  The Rabbit is the fourth sign of the Chinese Zodiac, and also happens to be the Chinese symbol for the Moon. The Rabbit is a lucky sign.  Rabbits are private individuals and a bit introverted.  People born in the Year of the Rabbit are reasonably friendly individuals who enjoy the company of a group of good friends.  They are good teachers, counselors and communicators, but also need their own space. (More details can be found at the following references.) (Refs 14-16)

ASTROLOGY and FOLKLORE
   Here is a digest of what two well-established astrologers have to say about tonight’s Full Moon. It is always interesting to me to see how independently arrived-at astrology views line up. If you find what these astrologers have to say here interesting, you can find much more detail by following the reference links to their Web sites for their full articles.

Carola Eastwood – Time to Get Into Gear
   January’s full moon in Cancer opposite the sun in Capricorn extends the most light into catalyzing a realization of which changes are currently necessary. Tomorrow (January 20), the sun enters Aquarius, and the planning stage gives way to making these changes happen in our lives. It’s “lights, camera, action!” Time to get into gear and implement our new path, new work, new realizations, relationships, culture, new experiences. Much of the work of the past Fall season has now borne fruit as the wisdom generated in that time finds an outlet for expression this Winter and Spring. Happy Creations and New Year! (Ref 17)

(Carola Eastwood provides in-depth personal astrology readings that open the doorway to fulfilling your life-purpose. (760-298-0918 www.HumanDesignForUsAll.com) )

Molly Hall – Release from Suffering, Cleansing of Emotions
   The tidal nature of Cancer reminds us that there are times to retreat, and times to ride in on that wave of feeling. Emotions take on a life of their own when they’re bottled up. This is a Full Moon for blessed release, to freshen the emotional waters.  The waves of feeling are strong at this water sign Full Moon. Thoughts of family, Mother and home are big. It’s the longing for a nest, support system, cozy refuge — the need to feel safe and protected. As a water sign, the Moon Cancer reflects back what’s fed into it. What’s the state of your emotional ocean — is it polluted with fear, negativity, stagnant pools of the past?

   This is a great time for a Cleansing Full Moon Ritual or in any way symbolically freshening the waters. And to make sure your well is filled with emotionally rich images, music, and friends.

“One’s suffering disappears when one lets oneself go, when one yields – even to sadness.” Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
(Refs 18-19)

Here’s wishing you and yours a blessed and bright New Year – both Eastern and Western!  See you for the full Moon in February!

§ § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § §

REFERENCES
The references in this blog are to books, magazines, and for the most part to information found on the World Wide Web. They are provided as acknowledgment, and also for your use in case you would like to do further reading on your own.

Ref 7: www.space.com/10629-post-obscure-full-moon-names-2011.html
Ref 8: www.farmersalmanac.com/full-moon-names
Ref 9: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Full_moon
Ref 10: http://earthsky.org/astronomy-essentials/bright-object-planet-jupiter-2011-planets-2011-planets-tonight
Ref 11: www.chinesefortunecalendar.com/LanternFestival.htm
Ref 12: www.guy-sports.com/humor/christmas/chinese_new_year2011.htm
Ref 13: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sexagenary_cycle
Ref 14: www.stanssewingsupplies.com/catalogs/store.asp?pid=253080
Ref 15: www.theholidayspot.com/chinese_new_year/more_zodiacs/rabbit.htm
Ref 16: www.herongyang.com/chinese/festivals/chinese_new_year_spring_festival.html
Ref 17: www.lifeconnectionmag.com/planetary.html
Ref 18:  http://astrology.about.com/b/2011/01/19/full-moon-tonight-3.htm
Ref 19: http://astrology.about.com/od/themoon/qt/FullMoonCancer.htm

INTENTION FOR THIS EARTH, MOON AND STARS BLOG
The Earth, Moon and Stars blog is published once each Full Moon with (hopefully interesting) facts and lore about our moon and other sky phenomena. My wish is that you will have fun learning a bit more about our one and only natural satellite and how all of us — people, animals, plants, water, even rocks — are affected and connected by her.

Advertisements

About aquarianman

Aquarian interested in anything to do with the Earth, our Moon, and anything flying around out there in space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s