March’s Lizard Full Moon

Welcome March Full Moon!

Welcome to Issue 3 of Volume IX of Earth, Moon and Stars!

IN THIS ISSUE
(click any of these section links)

INTRO

   If you’re new here and would like to learn first more about what we’re up to, click on Me to You to jump to my Intro section. (There’s a link there that will take you back to the above table of contents when you are ready.)

WHAT’S COOKIN’

FULLNESS
 The moon will become technically full Sunday March 12 at 14:54 UTC, correspondingly earlier in time zones west of the Prime Meridian, later in time zones to the east. (See my December 2014 issue for some clarification about UTC and 24-hour time.)

   Because technical fullness will occur in mid-afternoon at the Prime Meridian, the cusp this time will fall around Greenland’s meridian, and thus Ms. Luna will appear in the vicinity of this longitude equally full both Saturday and Sunday nights. Further west to the International Date Line will see closer to maximum fullness on Saturday night, while Sunday night will favor folks east of the cusp. Check Seasonal Calendar below for exact times in some representative time zones.

CELEBRATIONS
   Holi and Purim are the Spring festivals happening at this full moon. See the Celebrations section for pics and details.

MOON NAMES
   Past March issues have seen a variety of names featured for this full moon. This time it’s the Lizard Moon. Check out Moon Names for more.

Full Moon Chameleon (Albie Venter, South Africa)

                                                                                                                            Back to top

JUST SAYIN’
   In my opinion section, I continue the theme of All of Us with a famous song from 1985. Take a gander at the Just Sayin’ section.

ASTROLOGY
  Astrologer Tanaaz offers us timely insight at this full moon in Virgo in Astrology. 

HUMOR
  In our Humor section, Calvin and Hobbes ponder astrology.

Back to top

# * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * #

SEASONAL CALENDAR
Moon Dates and Times

Daylight Time Begins    USA, Canada: Sunday March 12

March’s full moon          Sunday March 12 14:54 UTC; 4:54 pm IST; 10:54 pm AWST/PHT
.                                              Sunday March 12 11:54 am ADT; 10:54 am EDT; 7:54 am PDT; 4:54 am HAST
.                                             Monday March 13 1:54 am AEDT
 

March Equinox               Monday March 20 10:29 UTC

Daylight Time Begins    Israel: Friday March 24  ||  United Kingdom: Sunday March 26

March’s new moon         Tuesday March 28 02:57 UTC; 5:57 am IDT; 10:57 am AWST/PHT; 1:57 pm AEDT
.                                               Monday March 27 11:57 pm ADT; 10:57 pm EDT; 7:57 pm PDT; 4:57 pm HAST

Daylight Time Ends       Eastern Australia: Sunday April 2

April’s full moon             Tuesday Apr 11 06:08 UTC; 9:08 am IDT; 2:08 pm AWST/PHT; 4:08 pm AEST
.                                               Tuesday Apr 11 3:08 am ADT; 2:08 am EDT
.                                               Monday Apr 10 11:08 pm PDT; 8:08 pm HAST

Passover                             Monday April 10 to Tuesday April 18
Easter                                  Sunday April 16

April’s new moon           Wednesday Apr 26 12:16 UTC; 3:16 pm IDT; 8:16 pm AWST/PHT; 10:16 pm AEST
.                                              Wednesday Apr 26 9:16 am ADT; 8:16 am EDT; 5:16 am PDT; 2:16 am HAST

.                                  Check Moon Giant to find Full Moon and New Moon times for your local time zone.

Back to top

# * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * #

MOON-RELATED CELEBRATIONS

Holi

   Hindus follow a lunisolar calendar, which honors each full noon (purnima) with a celebration. On the day after the last full moon of the Hindu lunar month Phalguna (transliterated as Phalgun Purnima), millions of people in India, Nepal, and now almost everywhere around the world, celebrate the Hindu festival of Holi – the Spring Festival of Colors.

   Though officially beginning this year on the evening of March 12 with the major riots happening on March 13 and 14, Holi celebrations in various places are beginning before then, while others are scheduled for later in the month. Similar to the Spring rituals of many cultures, this major Hindu holiday celebrates new life and hope, accentuating the joy with colors (everywhere and on everyone!) that reflect the colors of the flowers blooming all around. (See more at Time and USA Today.)

Holi Celebration

   The holiday also has deep cultural, mythological  and religious roots.  For lots more details about Holi, visit this Wikipedia article and Holi Festival.

Purim

   Purim is a rabbinically decreed Jewish holiday that is celebrated on the 14th day of the Hebrew month of Adar, which coincides with the current full moon. The holiday will run from sundown Saturday until sundown Sunday.

  This spring holiday commemorates the Jewish community’s narrow escape from collective destruction in the ancient Persian Empire, and is celebrated by merry-making, re-telling the story of Esther, and eating of traditional foods. The theme of the triumph of good over evil found here is common to many rites of Spring, including Holi (above). (More on Purim can be found at Wikipedia and Metro.)

Purim Street Celebration

Back to top

# * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * #

MOON NAMES

Lizard Moon

   As you know, many cultures around the world kept track of the seasons by giving distinctive names to each recurring full moon. Most of these names were appropriate for the season in which they occurred and were keyed to the goings-on in their natural environment.

   I think uplifting traditions are important — especially during troubled times — as they link us to thought lineages that, having marinated over time, have refined their wisdom to essentials. That’s one reason I like these various moon names — and not just the popular ones.

   In previous issues we’ve featured a variety of colorful names for the March full moon, including Worm, Sap, Crow, Moose Hunter, Whispering Wind, Buffalo, and Lenten Moon.

Full Crow Moon (Cherokee Billie)

   This time I’m pulling a more obscure name and featuring the Lizard Moon, so called by the San Juan peoples of Arizona. I tried to find some background for the name, but so far drawing blanks. I’ll just presume that the people living in what is now Arizona noticed that lizards were becoming active around this time of year after a lethargic winter.

Allosaurus vs. Stegosaurus under desert moon (Elena Duvernay)

   Okay, okay – while dinosaurs are a class of reptiles, they aren’t technically lizards. But this was such a neat piece of artwork, I couldn’t pass it up.

   And even more cool Lizard Moon art than I had anticipated finding . . .

Lizard Couple at Full Moon Night (haya_p Hayashi Masataka)

  Back to top

# * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * #

JUST SAYIN’

Continuing the “All of Us” Theme

   I introduced this section in last July’s issue to offer a more unifying perspective on the troubles and pain we humans continue to inflict on each other. Many poets have expressed how calming the moon can be, due ~ among other things ~ to her perspective from above, her constant blessing of us while we deal with chaos below, and also to her silence. (See Just Sayin’ in July’s issue for my expansion on this point of view.)

   This perspective sees all of us as equal passengers on this bright blue marble. My July, August, September, October, November, December, January and February posts offered songs I’d found expressing this idea in a variety of styles.

   As I was wondering what I was going to do for this month’s Just Sayin’, I remembered back to 1985 when Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie wrote We Are the World, which brought together 23 superstars of the day and was originally produced as a charity single to raise money for famine relief in Ethiopia.

   The message, of course, goes way beyond just one country. One of these days enough of us will wake up to realize we can create a better life for everyone by cooperating instead of fighting. I just hope when we do, it won’t be too late.

   Click the image of the record sleeve below to open the YouTube page where you can listen to Michael Jackson, Lionel Richie and 21 other superstars of 1985 sing this song:

   Excerpt:

We can’t go on pretending day by day
That someone, somehow will soon make a change
We are all a part of God’s great big family
And the truth, you know
Love is all we need.

   Click this Genius.com page for the full lyrics, and this Wikipedia article for more background.

Back to top

# * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * #

ASTROLOGY

Moon Travels Through the Zodiac

    Zipping Along. Unlike the Earth – which takes 365+ days to make a complete circuit through the zodiac – the moon takes just a month to complete an entire round. This means she spends on average only two and a half days in each zodiac sign.

   Opposition. Because at fullness the Moon is on the opposite side of the Earth from the Sun (opposition), it is in the zodiac sign that is opposite the sign that the sun is in. February’s Astrology section has a more detailed explanation.

Moon in Signs and Void of Course

   Technical astrologers call the times while Ms. Luna is in transition from one sign to the next “void of course”. This is considered to be a sort of neither-here-nor-there state, which many people feel as being unsettled or ungrounded. Each astrologer chooses their own method for calculating times of beginning and ending VoC. You can find interesting (though differing) VoC info and tables at Dr. Standley and at Moontracks.

   Referencing the Moontracks table, we find that Ms. Luna entered the sign of Virgo Friday (10th) at 10:07. She will exit Virgo — thus becoming VoC — Monday at 02:36, and will enter the sign of Libra a few hours later at 05:28. (All times here are UT~Universal Time.)

Full Moon in Virgo

Tanaaz ~  

Intuitive Astrology:
Full Moon in Virgo ~ A Time for Self-Healing

   Tanaaz Chubb is a professional content writer and producer who, among a number of endeavors, manages and directs Forever Conscious – an online holistic community that focuses on spiritual, emotional and physical well-being.

 In her Intuitive Astrology post for this full moon, Tanaaz begins with:

   The March 12th Full Moon falls in the earthy sign of Virgo. As the energy of this Full Moon lingers for the next two weeks, we are all going to enter into a time of self-healing.
. . .Virgo is typically the sign associated with thinking. Deep thinking. Over thinking. Virgo thinking is often self-critical, however when channeled in the right way, Virgo thinking can be extremely enlightening. 

   Hopefully that’s enough to pique your interest into taking a look at Tanaaz’ full article: March Full Moon. There’s a lot of good material there – and on other pages on her website as well – so you will want to set aside some quiet time to read and digest.

Virgo Full Moon

Back to top

# * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * # * #

HUMOR

Calvin and Hobbes: The future isn’t what it used to be.

   Calvin is thinking about astrology again . . .

Back to top

§§ # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # §§

FROM ME TO YOU

    Thank you, dear reader, for visiting EM&S this “moonth”. I hope you liked it.

   Here’s a little bit about me and what this blog is about. I’ve been fascinated with astronomy ever since I learned to read. I’m also interested in how objects in the heavens influence people. In this blog I collect facts and folklore (mostly from the Web) about our moon and other sky phenomena.

   If you especially liked something you saw here, or would like to see something in particular covered in a future issue, or you have something interesting about the Earth, Moon, or Stars you would like to share, please feel free to leave a comment. I’m always interested in how folks who stop by here are moved/influenced/affected by what they encounter here. And please don’t be shy about sharing this post with friends if you like it!

   Note that I have a separate post called ARCHIVES which contains a list of all the titles I’ve posted since the inception of this blog. The titles are clickable of course. Easier and more informative than just the dates that appear in the right-side Archives column. (I’m slowly learning more things I can make WordPress do. There’s a lot there!)

   Until the full moon in April,
here’s wishing all of us a month of joy and lightness.

~ Moonlight to all,
Marty

Back to top

§ § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § §

My Personal Take on Astrology

  Some folks have wondered why I have an astrology section in a blog that purports to be “science” oriented. I suppose I could cite ancient cultures in which astronomy and astrology were the domain of the same person. And that a broader way of understanding the aim of science is to expand knowledge (the word science being derived from the Latin word  scīre “to know”). My own sense is that while we humans live in a material world that runs by certain rules of physics, we each experience our lives in this world subjectively. It’s what makes us similar and at the same time unique.
   How much do celestial bodies influence our lives? Certainly the Sun and the Moon have noticeable gravitational effects on water and even rocks. Electromagnetic and particle radiation from the Sun has both obvious and subtle effects on just about everything on this planet. Even moonlight affects plants and animals.  I do not claim to know if or how much these and other celestial bodies affect us directly, but I like the wisdom, warmth and humanness that the astrologers I feature express in their writing, and believe that including them not only expands my potential audience, but also exposes folks to ways of thinking about their own lives that they might not have otherwise considered. Let me know your take on this. I won’t make your comment public if you ask me not to.

§ § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § §

A NOTE ON WRITING STYLE

    A few detail-oriented folks have inquired about my use (or mis-use) of Initial Caps in words like earth, moon, and sun. In the long run, it doesn’t affect understanding; whether I write ”the President” or “the president”, you still know who I’m referring to. I write “the Northern Hemisphere”, just as you would (correctly) write “the West Coast”; it’s a proper name, and in English we capitalize proper names.

    When it comes to suns and moons it can get confusing. There are billions of suns out there; we have given names to more than 40 million of them, ranging from names given in other languages (e.g., Aldebaran), to less fanciful but more utilitarian names, such as HD 140913. The International Astronomical Union (IAU) has decreed that our sun is the only one without such a proper name, although historically and in poesy it’s been called by quite a few.

    Similarly for our moon. We’ve christened all of the other 182 moons in our solar system with names – ours is the only one we call the Moon.

    Since we capitalize the names of all the other heavenly bodies (even asteroids and comets, for pity’s sake), I feel we ought to show at least as much respect for the ones most important to us. The IAU agrees.

    So does Wikipedia. Their Manual of Style says: “The words sun, earth, moon and solar system are capitalized (as proper names) when used in an astronomical context to refer to a specific celestial body (our Sun, Earth, Moon and Solar System): The Sun is the star at the center of the Solar System; The Moon orbits the Earth. They are not capitalized when used outside an astronomical context (The sky was clear and the sun felt warm), or when used in a general sense (Io is a moon of Jupiter).”

    Sometimes it’s a fine line. If I write “by the light of the silvery moon”, I won’t capitalize it, because I’m referring to an image of the celestial body, not the body itself. By contrast, if I write, “the light from the Sun reflects off the surface of the Moon,” I capitalize both, because I’m referring directly to the celestial bodies.

    If you inspect the archives of this blog, you will likely see many instances where I departed from this rule. We’ll call these oversights, and eventually I will correct them. Meanwhile, it’s an interesting challenge just to follow it in new writings. Are we having fun, yet?

§ § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § §

INTENTION FOR THIS EARTH, MOON AND STARS BLOG

   The Earth, Moon and Stars blog is published once each Full Moon with (hopefully interesting) facts and lore about our moon and other sky phenomena. My wish is that you will have fun learning a bit more about our one and only natural satellite and how all of us — people, animals, plants, water, even rocks — are affected and connected by her.

§ § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § § §

COPYRIGHT DISCLAIMER

Unless otherwise noted, this blog claims no credit for any images or compositions (e.g. songs, poetry) appearing on it. Copyrighted works remain the property of their respective owners; attribution and/or links are provided when known. If there is content appearing on this blog that belongs to you and you do not wish for it to appear here, please leave a comment with your email address and a link to the item in question and it will be promptly removed. Your comment will not be made public.

Advertisements

About aquarianman

Aquarian interested in anything to do with the Earth, our Moon, and anything flying around out there in space.
This entry was posted in astronomy, Constellations, Folklore, moon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s